Alumni Added

Added the following alumni profiles:

Geoff Mayes

Josh Niederman

Richard Koelsch

Made me think back to very special 2000 season. Was the first NWC conference championship for Whitman tennis since the middle 1980s and was also my first as Whitman’s coach. In the 2000 Conference finals we defeated a strong PLU team that had beaten us twice that year. Also that year Geoff Mayes went the entire season without dropping a set (he split playing #1 singles with Tim Mullin). Pretty amazing effort since he had taken a break from tennis for 2 1/2 years.

By |January 31st, 2012|Alumni|0 Comments

Solomon falls in National Tournament

WALLA WALLA, Wash. — A lost service game early in the first set proved costly as Whitman College senior Matt Solomon dropped a 6-4, 6-2 decision to Williams College senior Nick Lebedoff in this morning’s opening round of the NCAA Division III National Tennis Singles Championship Tournament.

The 32-player singles tournament, taking place at Ohio’s Oberlin College, continues through Sunday. (more…)

Matt Solomon — R.V. Borleske award!

WALLA WALLA, Wash. — Matt Solomon, a two-time Northwest Conference Player of the Year in men’s tennis, is the 2010 winner of the R.V. Borleske Trophy, which is presented annually to the top male athlete at Whitman College.
The trophy, which is awarded by a vote of the Whitman coaching staff, recognizes athletic ability and accomplishments, leadership and sportsmanship qualities, and contributions to the campus as a whole.

Matt Solomon

Solomon, playing No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles, led Whitman to its third straight Northwest Conference title this spring, and to its fourth consecutive 16-0 NWC regular season.
Ranked No. 22 nationally in NCAA Division III, Whitman advanced to the national championship tournament for the fourth time in as many years. A loss in the regional semifinals to No. 3 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps ended Whitman’s season with a 20-5 record. (more…)

By |May 18th, 2010|Alumni|0 Comments